Twas The Day Before Switchmas

maxresdefault

With the Nintendo Switch arriving tomorrow I thought it would be fitting to give a brief summary of my own personal experiences with each of Nintendo’s home consoles leading up to the Switch’s release.

NES

nes-classic-edition

Funny enough I have never played a NES, in fact I still to this day have yet to hold a NES controller. I suppose it’s not too far-fetched as not one of my closest relatives had owned one and it was released 7 years before I was born. Unfortunately there’s just not much to say about my own personal experience with the NES.

SNES

snes_console_lg-_v344019168_

This console was the start of my journey into the magical world of video games. Again I was too young to own one myself, however one of my cousins had left theirs over my grandparents house to play on the weekend. I would always watch one of them playing The Legend of Zelda: A Link To The Past, until one time where he had passed me the controller and simply said “Go for it”. When I was a bit older I spent most of my weekends over my grandparents constantly playing games such as Yoshi’s Island, Donkey Kong Country 3, Super Mario All-Stars and Kirby Super Star (The Great Cave Offensive is still amazing to this day). The SNES means a lot to me as it was my own personal introduction into video games.

N64

05_Flatbed_WEB - FEBRUARY

Ah the N64, my first console to which I could call my own. I honestly have no idea when I actually ended up having one, however I do remember having Rayman 2 and Pokemon Stadium bundled together with the Pikachu Special Edition Console (Pikachu’s cheeks light up when turned on, it’s the best). Gradually I started to build up quite the collection with Super Mario 64, Banjo Kazooie, Mario Party 2 and Super Smash Bros. However my fondest memories lie with Goldeneye. I will always remember the fun me and my cousins had playing this game, we would even make our own rules up and play the game in different ways. The N64 was the first console I owned, I spent so much time with it growing up and to this day it remains one of the greatest.

Gamecube

gamecube-console-set

The Gamecube was a weird one for me, I seemed to have missed out on quite a lot of the consoles big titles when I had owned one. I did however have Super Smash Bros Melee, Mario Kart Double Dash, Pokemon Colosseum and a few of the Mario Party games (I love this series). It was a console I had really neglected when I had it, I think I just preferred the PS2 at the time as I missed out on so many great games. However my fondest memories of the Gamecube come from my time at university, spending hours and hours playing Mario Party, Mario Kart, Super Smash Bros and I even got to go back and experience some of the big games I had once missed out on. The local multiplayer games on the Gamecube are fantastic, It’s by far one of my favorite consoles and it’s a console everyone should own.

Wii

3849-1

The Nintendo Wii’s release was insane. I remember when it launched it felt like hell to get one and I remember anxiously waiting on Christmas eve as my mother had made it clear she was really struggling to get one as they were out of stock everywhere and it was the only thing I had wanted that year. Luckily I did get one and it was amazing. I spent pretty much the whole of the Christmas holidays playing Wii Sports, The Legends of Zelda: Twilight Princess and Red Steel. I spent a lot of time on the Wii and it really is a fantastic console. Sure it didn’t have the same power as the Xbox 360 or the PS3, but as usual what Nintendo lacked in power they completely made up for it with ingenuity. As a side note shout out to that one mode in Wii Party: Hide and hunt, now THAT was such a simple but fantastic idea, it brought some of the biggest laughs me and my friends have ever had.

Wii U

nintendo-ceases-wii-u-production

Finally we have the Wii U. Whenever I talk about the Wii U as a whole I feel kind of bummed out. This console has its issues, as does every console ever. However it’s honestly got an incredible catalogue of games and it will always be the console that everyone underestimated. Super Mario 3D World, Smash Bros Wii U, Mario Kart 8 and even Nintendo Land, these are all amazing games and the console has so many other great titles that it’s hard to believe that things ended up the way they did. Finally Tomorrow The Legend of Zelda: Breath of The Wild will be the perfect send off. The Wii U will hold a special place in my heart and I will always be happy to come back to it to play the incredible games it has to offer.

Leave a Reply

